Dallas Uninsured Driver Accident Lawyer
We’re serious about helping you with your car accident claim or lawsuit
Car accidents caused by uninsured drivers in Dallas can be confusing. All you probably want to do is get the best medical care possible for your car accident injury, whether it’s a neck injury like whiplash or a traumatic brain injury (TBI) like a concussion. You might even need emergency medical care at Baylor University Medical Center, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas, or another Dallas hospital.
Instead, you’re probably spending a lot of time trying to figure out how to pay for your accident-related expenses. This can be especially frustrating if the at-fault driver who caused your crash doesn’t have car insurance. In addition, you might also be dealing with a hit-and-run accident, which often goes hand-in-hand with car crashes caused by uninsured drivers.
So what should you do? What are your options? Make sure you know your rights. Make sure you talk to an experienced Dallas car accident lawyer at The Marye Law Firm about your uninsured driver accident. For more than two decades, our legal team has been helping injury victims and their families in Dallas and throughout northern Texas. As a result, we know the law and understand how the legal system works when it comes to uninsured driver accidents.
Are drivers in Texas required to have insurance?
Yes. The law is clear in Texas – all drivers must have some form of car insurance. The state also has strict rules about the minimum amount of insurance drivers are required to have in Texas. The minimum car insurance requirements in Texas include:
- A minimum of $30,000 per person injured in the accident.
- A minimum of $60,000 per accident for all injury victims.
- A minimum of $25,000 for property damage coverage.
In the insurance industry, such insurance minimums in Texas are known as 30/60/25 coverage. That might seem like a lot of money. But many accident claims are worth significantly more. So even if the driver who hit your car has insurance, their insurance coverage might not be enough. When that happens, you could be faced with an underinsured accident claim.
Who’s responsible for paying for my accident?
If the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance – or doesn’t have enough car insurance – who’s responsible for paying for your accident? Sometimes, it’s your own insurance company, if you have uninsured motorist coverage or underinsured motorist protection (UIM). In such cases, you can file an accident claim with your own insurance company.
Legally, you may be able to seek financial compensation from the other driver. But in many cases, such an approach isn’t all the effort. That’s because most drivers who don’t have car insurance also don’t have any other assets that can be seized to pay for injury-related expenses.
Depending on the circumstances, there may be other sources of compensation as well. The bottom line – the sooner you talk to an experienced attorney, the better. A car accident lawyer familiar with Texas’ legal system can answer your questions and explain the different legal options available to you. That way, you can make an informed decision based on the facts.
Can I sue the other driver?
The short answer to this question? Yes, you have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit directly against the at-fault driver in Texas. However, as briefly explained above, if the at-fault driver does not have car insurance, they might not have any money or other assets which can be sold to pay for your accident-related expenses. In other words, you may have a legal claim, but that doesn’t mean you have a viable claim.
It’s also important to be aware of the deadlines that apply to filing a car accident lawsuit. In Texas, that deadline (known as the statute of limitations) is two years from the date of your accident. If you miss that deadline, you could miss out on your only opportunity to obtain the money you need for your accident. That’s why it’s important to act fast after your car crash.
How much is my injury claim worth?
Like other car accidents, the total value of your accident claim will likely depend on many different factors, including the severity of your injuries and the length of your recovery. But the bottom line is you should be financially compensated for all past, present, and future accident expenses. These include:
- The total cost of all your medical care, including future anticipated medical treatments.
- The cost of repairing or replacing your damaged vehicle.
- Replacement income if you need time off from work to rest and recover.
- Lost future income if cannot return to work due to a permanent disability.
All of these expenses can easily add up to thousands of dollars or significantly more. This is why it’s critical that you have an experienced, dedicated legal team on your side. They can demand the money you deserve so you can focus on what really matters – your recovery.
Make your case matter. Contact The Marye Law Firm
Don’t underestimate the seriousness or the complexity of your Texas uninsured driver accident. Talk to a law firm that can take action right away on your behalf. Contact us and schedule your free case evaluation with a Dallas car accident lawyer focused on winning your case.
The Marye Law Firm – you can count on us in a crisis.